Changes could see Sunbury down to two council representatives

Changes to the ward boundaries of Hume City Council could see the number of representatives in Sunbury reduced from three to two. A new rule means councils can only have one councillor in each ward, and there’s a proposal to split what is currently known as Jacksons Creek ward in half.

The Victoria Government is currently deciding on the future of Hume’s wards, how many councillors the city should have, and decide on ward names. The city currently has 11 councillor’s but there are calls to increase this to 12.

If any one of the three proposed models goes ahead unchanged, it could see the end of the Jacksons Creek ward as it stands today. See proposed maps below.

An Electoral Representation Advisory Panel suggests a new boundary along Reservoir Rd and Emu Creek, or Reservoir Rd and Sunbury Rd. The area currently known as Jacksons Creek ward will then have two councillors.

Sunbury resident Chris O’Neill wrote that Sunbury is at the start of its growth projection and needs more representatives.

He said: “Any model needs to suggest 12 single councillor wards with three covering the Sunbury region, and the creation of a new Tullamarine ward.”

In a written submission to the review panel, Hume City mayor Naim Kurt urged its members to “…seriously consider the addition of an extra councillor”.

Cllr Kurt also says ward boundaries should be based on town centres, not creeks – as specified in a draft proposal (PDF).

Any redrawing of the ward map needs to be signed-off by the Minister for Local Government – Melissa Horne MP.

There are approximately 170,268 voters in Hume City, with each councillor representing 15,478 voters.

Single-member wards a were last used in Hume in 2005.

Back then, names were:

  1. Jacksons ward (Western Sunbury)
  2. Evans ward (Sunbury and Bulla)
  3. Aitken ward (Craigieburn and Mickleham)
  4. Woodlands ward (Greenvale)
  5. Airport ward (Tullamarine, Gladstone Park, and Jacana)
  6. Ningulabul ward (Broadmeadows)
  7. Maygar ward (Campbellfield)
  8. Shankland ward (Meadow Heights)
  9. Merri Merri ward (Roxburgh Park and Campbellfield).

Where people live in Hume with growth projections (dotted lines)

Source / Hume City Council

Three boundary options are on the table…